Follies (2011 Broadway Cast)

Release Date: 2011

Label: P.S. Classics

Catalog #: PS1105 (2CD)

Aside from performing in ‘Follies’ every night in New York we all visited Avatar studios in October/November 2011 to record the cast album. That was so exciting as we did the whole album ‘live’ with an orchestra – just like we did every night.

Funnily enough we recorded in the very studio, Avatar, where I recorded my last CD (Elaine Paige and Friends). Even more of a coincidence was the producer of that album, Phil Ramone, was working upstairs! It was so unexpected to see him. We reminisced for a while and talked briefly about plans to work together again soon on a new album. I wanted to stay all day and watch Phil work, but it was back to work downstairs with the company and Mr Sondheim had now arrived to supervise everything that was going on. It was so fantastic to watch him listening and concentrating on everything; and even better to see him smile while we recorded tracks. We all had so much fun.

Produced by Tommy Krasker – who has supervised over a dozen Sondheim cast recordings – this expansive double album features the entire cast of 41 backed by a 28-piece orchestra, conducted by James Moore.

Note: This new Broadway Cast recording of ‘Follies’ received a GRAMMY nomination for ‘Best Musical Theatre Album’.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
    ''Welcome to our first - and last - reunion...''
  • 4
    Beautiful Girls
  • 5
    ''You came; you’re really here...''
  • 6
    Don’t Look at Me
  • 7
    ''I never get to talk...'' (featuring Elaine Paige)
  • 8
    Waiting for the Girls Upstairs
  • 9
    Rain on the Roof
  • 10
    Ah, Paris!
  • 11
    Broadway Baby
  • 12
    The Road You Didn't Take
  • 13
    ''Bargains, Buddy...''
  • 14
    In Buddy's Eyes
  • 15
    ''Let's dish. Tell me everything...'' (featuring Elaine Paige)
  • 16
    Who's That Woman? (Terri White & The Ladies)
  • 17
    ''I had a Follies number once...'' (Elaine Paige)
  • 18
    I'm Still Here (Elaine Paige)
  • 19
    Too Many Mornings
  • 20
    The Right Girl
  • 21
    ''Men are so sweet...'' (featuring Elaine Paige)
  • 22
    One More Kiss
  • 23
    ''According to statistics...''
  • 24
    Could I Leave You?
  • 25
    ''You'll make a good wife, Phyl...''
  • 26
  • 27
    You're Gonna Love Tomorrow / Love Will See Us Through
  • 28
    The God-Why-Don't-You-Love-Me Blues
  • 29
    Losing My Mind
  • 30
    The Story of Lucy and Jessie
  • 31
    Live, Laugh, Love
  • 32
  • 33
    End of Show